Youngest Law Society of the ACT president elected

by |
Sarah Avery is the youngest lawyer ever to become the president of the Law Society of the Australian Capital Territory.
The 33-year-old Avery, whose election was declared at the Law Society’s AGM on 22 September, is a senior associate with Ken Cush & Associates.
Avery will be replacing Martin Hockridge who’s leaving the office after three years.
Admitted in 2007, she was appointed senior Vice-President of the Law Society in 2015, the law society said.
“She is also on the Pro-Bono Clearing House Panel, the Legal Aid Review Panel, the Functions Committee, and is a mentor in the Young Lawyers Mentor Program,” it added.
Avery has served as a member of the Law Society Council during 2009-2012, and has been a member of the Criminal Law Committee.
The Law Society noted that Avery has first-hand experience with several of the ACT’s most controversial laws as well as front-line experience with the ACT judicial system.
This enables her to bring “a valuable perspective and experience to the Council,” the organisation added.
“Sarah brings a fresh and enthusiastic approach to the Presidency, along with a strong desire to protect the interests and reputation of the ACT legal community while serving the broader community,” it said.
Meanwhile, Chris Donohue (Donohue & Co) and Craig Painter (Snedden Hall & Gallop) were elected vice presidents and Louise Vardanega (Australian Government Solicitor) and Vik Sundar (Chamberlains Law Firm) were named secretary and treasurer respectively.
Elected councillors are Valerie Bradley (Trinity Law), Peter Cain (ACT Revenue), Clarissa Campbell (Chamberlains Law Firm), Catherine Coles (Watts McCray), Amy Eager (Legal Aid ACT), Roger Hambly (Minter Ellison), Gavin Lee (Arthur J Gallagher), George Marques (HWL Ebsworth Lawyers), Bronwyn McNeil (Clayton Utz) and Phil Schubert (Blumers Personal Injury Lawyers).