New ACT Law Society council elected

by |
The new council of the Law Society of the ACT has been elected.

The members of the 2017-18 council were announced on 21 September at the law society’s annual general meeting. Sarah Avery of Maurice Blackburn Lawyers will once again serve as president of the law society after being re-elected unopposed.

The members of the 2017-18 council are:

Sarah Avery (Maurice Blackburn Lawyers)

Vice Presidents
Craig Painter (Snedden Hall & Gallop)
Peter Cain (ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal)

Louise Vardanega PSM (Australian government solicitor)

Vik Sundar (Chamberlains Law Firm)

Immediate Past President
Martin Hockridge (Hockridge Law Consulting)

Valerie Bradley (Trinity Law)
Matthew Carmody (McInnes Wilson Lawyers)
Martin Carrick (Slater & Gordon)
Elizabeth Carroll (IP Australia)
Paul Edmonds (Paul Edmonds & Associates)
Sama Khan (McInnes Wilson Lawyers)
Gavin Lee (Arthur J Gallagher)
Sage Leslie (DDCS Lawyers)
George Marques (HWL Ebsworth)
Susan Platis (Legal Aid ACT)

Avery thanked the current members and welcomed new members of the council during a formal launch after the organisation’s AGM. She also presented the law society’s donation to the Australian Indigenous Leadership Centre, which totalled $9,875 in 2017.

Related stories:
Law Council says yes to same-sex marriage
For the first time, women outnumber men in Australia’s legal profession