In-house lawyer finalists announced

by |
The ACC has announced the finalists for the Australian In-house Lawyer Awards.

This year, the ACC received a record number of nominations, daily global engagement seemed to be the common theme for the evolving role of an in-house lawyer.

“It’s wonderful to see so many of the finalists, recognised for their excellence in the provision of legal services, thriving in a global environment,” said ACC Australia president, Adrian Goss.

“Whether in government or corporate legal departments, each finalist has made a significant contribution to the profession and demonstrated excellence in an area of the legal profession that is constantly evolving.”

Goss said the role of an in-house lawyer now includes responding to challenges and opportunities presented by the international arena.  Many Australian legal departments are now responsible for managing the Asia-Pacific region.

2015 In-house Lawyer Awards Finalists are:

Corporate Lawyer of the Year
• Sam Lennox, General Counsel, Cancer Council Queensland
• Carmel Mulhern, Group General Counsel, Telstra
• Michael Rowe, Head of Legal & Government Affairs, Metlife
Government Lawyer of the Year
• Leo Hardiman, Deputy General Counsel and National Group Leader, Australian Government Solicitor
• Kara Miller, Manager Legal & Governance, Sustainability Victoria
• Marian Moss, Assistant Secretary and Chief Lawyer, Indigenous Affairs, Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet
Legal Team of the Year – Small (1 – 9 lawyers)
• Cummins
• ResMed
• State Trustees Limited
• Staples Australia
Legal Team of the Year – Large (10+ lawyers)
• AECOM Australia and New Zealand
• NBN Co Limited
• Telstra Corporation Limited
Young Lawyer Achiever of the Year
• Gareth Hewson, Senior Legal Counsel, Toll Holdings
• Chian Kee, acting Head of Legal – Retail and New Energy, AGL Energy Limited
• Lauren Miller, Assistant General Counsel, Carnival Australia
• Verity White, Legal Counsel, M2 Group
Excellence in Corporate Social Responsibility
• AECOM Australia and New Zealand
The winners will be announced at the Annual Awards Gala Dinner on the 12 November at the Gold Coast.