Firm launches scholarship honouring former Federal Court judge

by |
Arnold Bloch Leibler has launched a Melbourne Law School scholarship in honour of former Federal Court judge, Alan Goldberg AO QC.

Goldberg, a University of Melbourne alumnus, served as a Federal Court judge from 1997 to 2012 and was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia back in 2005.

The scholarship, awarded to Melbourne Juris Doctor students who are in financial need and have demonstrated academic merit, will serve as recognition of Goldberg’s commitment to the law and support for access to education.

“The Alan Goldberg Scholars will create a lasting recognition of Alan’s deep commitment to the law, and his abiding love and support of education,” said senior partner Mark Leibler.

“We believe this scholarship will play a significant role in the lives of many talented young Australians who aspire to achieve a fine legal education at Melbourne Law School.”

Leibler, who is also a University of Melbourne alumnus, talked about the significant contribution that Goldberg has made to the firm.

“Alan has assisted us to solve some of the most difficult problems for our clients, using not only his extraordinary knowledge of the law, but also by the practical application of his special skills. I know he still gives wise advice and counsel to many people, and we thank him for that,” he said in his address at the launch this week.

Dean of Melbourne Law School, Professor Carolyn Evans acknowledged donors, Marc and Eva Besen, Gandel Philanthropy, the Lew family and the Pratt Foundation.

“We are delighted that, through this Scholarship, Alan Goldberg will be held up as a role model to succeeding generations of law students,” Evans said.

“Both as a lawyer and a judge, Alan is known for combining exceptional intellect with personal modesty and a deep commitment to fairness.

“Students awarded this scholarship will be inspired by his example.”

Goldberg was called to the bar in 1965 and appointed Queens’ Counsel for Victoria in 1978.  He was president of the Australian Competition Tribunal from 2003 to 2008.