Anne Ferguson succeeds Marilyn Warren as Supreme Court of Victoria chief justice

by |
Justice Anne Ferguson has been appointed as the chief justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria, Attorney-General Martin Pakula has announced.

Ferguson, a judge of the Victorian Court of Appeal, will succeed Chief Justice Marilyn Warren, who retires on 1 October.

“Justice Ferguson is widely respected in the Victorian legal profession and by her judicial colleagues for her intellect, leadership and extensive knowledge of the law,” Pakula said. “Justice Ferguson has a legal career spanning more than three decades and has a wealth of experience working as a judge of the Court of Appeal and as a leading solicitor. I congratulate her on this appointment.”

Ferguson was appointed to the Supreme Court in 2010 and to the Court of Appeal in 2014. She is a former partner of Allens Arthur Robinson, now Allens, where she specialised in insolvency and commercial litigation.

Ferguson is making history as the first solicitor to be appointed to the role. She will be the twelfth chief justice of the Supreme Court and the second woman to hold the top job.

“Justice Ferguson is an exceptional choice as the new chief justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria,” said Will Alstergren QC, president of the Australian Bar Association. “Justice Ferguson will bring to the role of chief justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria outstanding knowledge and experience in the law, particularly in relation to her excellent work as a trial and appellant judge. Her honour’s appointment is welcomed with great enthusiasm by the Australian Bar Association.”

Alstergren also paid tribute to Warren.

“Since her appointment in 2003, Chief Justice Warren has been an exemplary leader of Victoria’s highest court. On behalf of the legal profession, I express our profound respect for her honour’s leadership of and work in the Supreme Court,” he said.

Related stories:
Australia’s first woman Supreme Court chief justice to retire
New Zealand has highest proportion of female Supreme Court judges